Changing Yourself or Your Face? – Renee Zellweger Saga

renee zellwegerSo you may have hear about the buzzing news around about Academy-Award Nominated Actress Renee Zellweger changing her looks, *ah-hem* sorry her lifestyle according to the star. First off, to be honest when I saw her name “trending” on my Facebook feed, I thought to myself, “What a coincidence someone has the same name as the actress.” I thought it was another case of double identity similar to Aaron Rogers look-a-like.

Then when I actually opened the article and read that it was about the buzz surrounding the actress looking unrecognizable to the public I was in complete shock. I really couldn’t believe that it was the cute and spunky actress that we all grew to love from movies like Bridget Jones, Jerry Maguire, and Cold Mountain (one of my favorites). My next thought was, “Why would she do that to her face?”

The answer lies in our society. Whether it is aging, sexuality, gender differences, publicity, or even self worth that drives someone to make cosmetic changes to their bodies, that is something that is worth discussing. Before I start to rant about how people should just be themselves, let’s bring it back to basics.

Childhood Memories

When you are child growing up, sometimes you could have bad eyesight or crooked teeth and often times your family will invest hundreds, sometimes thousands of dollars to buy glasses or braces to make the correction. These are usually done to improve eyesight or the health of your mouth and teeth (remember you only get one set of teeth, lucky sharks).

bracesAs you grow older you may notice your mom (or even dad) getting their hair dyed to help hide those grays and prevent them from “aging” in your eyes. You may also go to the tanning salon before prom or the big dance to make sure you look stunning in your dress (at least we did in New Jersey, yes stereotypical).

These occasional body adjustments or “improvements” help us develop confidence and our identity as we get older. Because to be honest as much as I want to say I don’t always care what I look like when I leave the house everyday, I do to some extent.

Back To Reality & Society

Now these changes may affect your outlook on your body image as you grow older and some people invest more money into their bodies than the average person so they can look “oh, so fabulous”. But that doesn’t mean you are changing “who” you are.

The thing that bothers me the most is that people (including celebrities) feel the need to brush off comments about “altering” their bodies and instead take a different path of changing themselves. Renee Zellweger claimed that she has been living a happier and healthier lifestyle and that is how she has changed.

That’s great to hear. Everyone truly deserves happiness, but com’ on YOU DON’T LOOK LIKE YOU! Plastic surgery is beginning to take over the act of actually improving yourself as a person and deal with aging.

Some daughters ask for boob-jobs for their 16th birthday on a regular before they have “fully-developed”.
Women are getting botox injected more often than they get their nails done.
Men are getting facelifts to retreat those invading wrinkles to stay “youthful” for their wives.

When does the madness stop. I get it, image is a HUGE thing in our society (that’s a whole different topic) but when you are looking completely different, don’t tell me you starting eating organic, you now drive a hybrid, or something else has altered in your life to make you look different.

If you want to change yourself for the better, go volunteer for a charity or go pick up trash in your neighborhood. Make a real difference in the world and it will reflect in your beautiful smile and glow.

4 comments

  1. Sandi · October 22, 2014

    I agree with you that image is way too important in present-day society–maybe I’m naive, but I’m not convinced that she had cosmetic surgery. In my book, innocent until she claims guilt, as Jennifer Grey did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My Worst Advice · October 22, 2014

      I understand how you are giving her the “benefit” of the doubt, but seriously she doesn’t even look remotely the same. So I think it is a strong assumption. But either way, the whole idea of image being how important it is to society is a problem.

      Like

  2. annieemmy · October 22, 2014

    I agree whole-heartedly. And that doesn’t even look like the same person!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fillyourownglass · October 22, 2014

    I agree! It’s sad enough that teenaged girls feel compelled to diet themselves straight into illness, but it makes me incredibly sad when as grown women we still cannot accept ourselves. I would say that it is a personal choice, but if you do it, please own it.

    Liked by 1 person

What is your "worst" advice?

