Not Computer Savvy? Oh, ok…

Talked to a business owner today trying to make a sale, this is what he said when I asked if he could email me information.

Uh, I’m not too computer savvy.

My first reaction, was “Uh…ok. Can you call me back?” Not that I hate being on the phone, I still think it is more important than email messages, but when you are trying to sell me something don’t make things more difficult for me. Get on a computer, at least use email. I’m not asking you to solve a scientific equation.

My worst advice, if you own a business get computer savvy. Stop living in the past. I get that the whole technology, Google Glass, and smartphone stuff can get intimidating, especially for the older generation. But really, email?? Get with the times, if you want to continue to do business GET computer savvy. Otherwise you’ll be stuck in the past with the caveman that didn’t want to use the wheel.

I’m not asking you to be “high-tech” but at least be “low-tech” and know how to be computer savvy.

4 comments

  1. The Barefoot Bookworm · September 7, 2014

    Reblogged this on The Barefoot Bookworm and commented:
    This reminds me of my dad: for the longest time, he used to get me to do all his computer work (emails, lecture presentations, etc) for him. One day I finally got over the buzz of being needed by my parents instead of the other way (I think the technical term for this is “turning 16”) and I told him it was about time he got tech-savvy.
    He said: “But I AM tech-savvy. See, I get everything done by remote control.” And he prodded me back to work.

    Like

  2. allthoughtswork · September 7, 2014

    Don’t worry, the un-tech-savvy will all be dead soon and WE’LL be the old fogies, unwilling to have our brains implanted with computer chips or whatever the new tech will be fifty years from now. Because progress.

    Like

    • My Worst Advice · September 7, 2014

      Couldn’t agree with you more. It’s all cyclical and we’re just part of it all. Forward thinking for can benefit everyone.

      Like

  3. basketcse · October 31, 2014

    Snicker. I was my dad’s remote control. The library gives free classes to seniors in the U.S., my mother refused. Called me for everything. I have a bit in one of my books kind of on this subject.

    Liked by 1 person

What is your "worst" advice?

